Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Forum to discuss MLScript plugin that enables VBScript and JavaScript scripting within MLServer3.
User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Postby simonmason » Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:30 pm

I don't see much of anything in the log when running scripts - and I don't see any evidence of the MLServer.cmdReceive but I know the first command is being received because the scene changes. I tried different logging levels but they don't seem to change much?
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Dec 27, 2008 9:19 pm

Temporarily change to cmdReceivePush. This should force them into MLServer's log.

User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Postby simonmason » Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:14 am

I tried that and I still see no evidence of the command running.

I do have an issue with this particular command in general, due mostly I think to timing. I am changing scenes and loading the musiclobby.swf on the new scene. I then issue a zone change command on the new scene, through the Scene Startup MLServeCMD. It does not work. Musiclobby will either default to the first zone or the last selected zone if something other than the first zone. However, when I place a button on the scene with the zone command, wait for everything to load, then push it - voila - Musiclobby switches to the specified zone.

I tried inserting a two second delay in the script before issuing the zone selection command but this didn't do anything?

What is the easiest way of calling a pop-up debug window in the client from the script and passing information to it. This would be easier for debugging purposes than checking the server log (which is on a rack mounted server in my case!).

Thanks, and sorry about the compound question.
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Postby jjjukebox » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:00 pm

Is there a MLS command to do this within ML as opposed to a script?
J.J. Jukebox
Member

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:35 pm

You cannot send a particular event log message but you can send a popup message to a client or all clients using

MLCmd|Msg~{[clientname}} or ALL~Text in the title~Text in the body~Time to Display message in seconds

like

MLCmd|Msg~ALL~Good Morning~Time to do something useful~15

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Postby jjjukebox » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:56 pm

What I am trying to do is send an event to the MLS Log from a command map to see how long a particular routine takes. I want to send an event when the routine starts and another when it completes.

Eg.

LogMLServerEvent|Marine Report Update~Rountine Start
&
LogMLServerEvent|Marine Report Update~Rountine End

From a script I use:

MLServer.LogMLEvent "HomeTek Script", "Marine Report Update Start"
&
MLServer.LogMLEvent "HomeTek Script", "Marine Report Update End"

The start and stop times are represented in the MLS Log events

Thanx
J.J. Jukebox

Member

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:20 pm

Ah you want to log an event via a command.

LogEvent|EventSource~EventMessage~ErrorLevel (V,E,I)

e.g.
LogEvent|Import~Import has started~E
LogEvent|Import~Import has stopped~E

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Postby jjjukebox » Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:34 pm

Thanx!!

Trying to figure out if pauses in system response to clients coincide with a script running, command map or automation rule . Started with upgrade to MLS 225

Later
J.J. Jukebox

Member

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Postby jjjukebox » Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:24 pm

Dave,

Tryed this and did not work:

LogEvent|AutomationRule~SatRadio Info Update Started~E
LogEvent|AutomationRule~SatRadio Info Update Ended~E

Any suggestions?

Thanx
J.J. Jukebox

Member

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:23 pm

Sorry typed too fast. If you are running MLServer 3 then the command would be

MLLogEvent|EventMessage~E

In MLServer 4 it is

MLLogEvent|EventMessage~E

or

LogEvent|EventMessage~E

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Trouble with MLServer.LogMLEvent

Postby jjjukebox » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:28 pm

That did it

Thanx
J.J. Jukebox

Member


Return to “MLScript”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest