Geovision Feed to ML ?

Discuss Cinemar's GeoVision driver and anything hardware related.
User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:20 pm

Hi Alex,

Login and redownload the GeoVision driver.

There are some new additions. You can now send an MLServeCmd when a camera detects motion.

Some new commands have been added to allow Recording, updating images, PTZ control, etc.

For more details visit the online wiki:
http://www.cinemaronlineforums.com/wiki ... ion_Plugin
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

Mohuska
New Member
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:11 pm
Contact:

Geovision

Postby Mohuska » Mon Feb 18, 2008 7:26 pm

Mario,

I have been reviewing the progress and am just going out to buy a security system for my home. Using say a Geovision 1240-8 card, I have the following questions:

1. What would be the best supported PTZ camera to use with ML?

2. If I were going for low light, what would be the best supported camera?

3. Is there a camera that does low light well and is PTZ?

4. Does this new plugin support wireless cameras and what would be a good wireless camera that is supported?

Thanks,

Mike

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Mon Feb 18, 2008 9:11 pm

Mohuska,

Unfortunately your questions are probably better answered by a dedicated security camera vendor. There are all sorts of variables that will play into you selecting the appropriate camera for each location.

Any PTZ camera that the GeoVision supports, which should be any PTZ camera assuming you purchase their optional PTZ card, will work.

I personally don't have any experience with analog PTZ cameras so I can't really recommend or offer any real world experience.

I'm not aware of analog wireless PTZ cameras.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

alexd
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:14 pm
Contact:

Postby alexd » Fri Feb 29, 2008 9:28 am

Mario,

I'm not having any luck with the motion detection function in MLIPCamera.

I was trying to get the function to change some things within a scene based on motion, and I'm pretty happy that the commands would have worked, but they dont seem to be getting triggered.

I went back to basics and have now got the following in the 'On Motion MLServeCMD' box within the MILIP Camera settings (for camera1):
SetVariable|CameraRecentMotion~1

FYI This camera is receiving a feed perfectly.

I would expect the variable CameraRecentMotion to change to a 1 when there was motion detected, but the variable is not getting created, so I am assuming it is not recognising the motion?

Could you provide a bit more info on if there are any other specifics that need to be set or conditions that need to be met for this to work?
(p.s. I couldnt find any reference to this capability in the geovision or mlipcamera wiki)

Thanks
Alex

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:59 am

Hi Alex,

You'll probably need to adjust your Motion Detect sensitivity for that camera within the Geovision software.

The way the motion detection works is not very good.

It is only an event. So it sees motion and then tells us. But it doesn't send anything else after that. So we don't know when motion detection stops. There's also no way to poll for motion once it occurs.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com


Return to “GeoVision”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest