MLArcSoft Agent "forgets" everything

Discussions around plugins that interact with Software DVD Players
ebr
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:27 pm
Contact:

MLArcSoft Agent "forgets" everything

Postby ebr » Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:01 am

Everytime I restart the Arcsoft agent software, I have to re-enter all my setup info. Is this a known issue or is something wrong with my setup?

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:19 pm

Are you on a Vista system?
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

ebr
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:27 pm
Contact:

Postby ebr » Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:29 pm

No. XP SP3...

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:39 am

The agent saves all its settings in the registry. Make sure you have enough rights to write to the HKLM registry hive.

ebr
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:27 pm
Contact:

Postby ebr » Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:45 am

I'm an administrator. I'll be installing the new version you made with the new title so maybe a re-install will fix it.

ebr
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:27 pm
Contact:

Postby ebr » Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:22 pm

Well, I re-installed the new version but it still doesn't keep any of my settings.

Any ideas on what I need to look for? Maybe I need to register it somehow? I guess this is unique to my setup somehow...

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:36 pm

Easyiest route to the solution is for me to remote into your PC and have a look. LogMeIn is best.

ebr
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:27 pm
Contact:

Postby ebr » Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:06 am

A couple of tidbits for others' benefit:

1) The issue here is that the agent does not save its settings if you close it by hitting the "X" on the window or if Windows itself shuts it down for a restart. If you use File/Save it will save the settings.

2) Just for other people with multiple monitor setups, Logmein totally screwed my video drivers. It installed its own video driver over the top of my secondary display driver and completely screwed Catalyst. I'm in the process of attempting to restore my system with Windows restore points.


Return to “Software DVD Players”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests