Play/Pause, Next and Previous Tracks using Nuvo Keypads

Forum to discuss plugin support for the Nuvo brand of products.
dyenamic
New Member
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Play/Pause, Next and Previous Tracks using Nuvo Keypads

Postby dyenamic » Sat Jul 26, 2008 4:29 am

I am using Musiclobby with the Nuvo Grand Concerto. It's great that the keypads can be updated with now playing information but I am looking for a way the Nuvo keypad next, previous and play/pause can directly control the musiclobby(jriver) transport controls.

The Nuvo sends back specific zone and source ascii responses when a keypad button is pressed but the MLGrandConcerto plugin is ignoring these. I don't see any server variables changing that I can trigger a server rule from either.

I tried using MLGenericDevice but it was not reliable, easy to get out of sync and hang up. Maybe its the fact the baud rate is high with the Nuvo?

Mario/Dave - any chance of adding these 'transport controls' in to the GrandConcerto plugin? Automatically detecting these (Play/Pause, Next, Previous) and being able to trigger MLservercmds would be great!

Thanks...

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Sat Jul 26, 2008 5:37 am

Can you post a MLGrandConcerto log on what appears when you hit one of the GC keypad transport controls?

dyenamic
New Member
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby dyenamic » Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:12 am

Hi Dave,
Thanks for quick response...

I just found out that MLServer crashes if the user operates the forward/back/play/pause controls on the keypad...

The Log is continually scrolling an error message Error 9 (Subscript out of range) @Line 80 in procedure CheckOther Typeo....
then line90, 100, 110, 120 then back to 80. Continuous loop and server lockup. Can't copy log as its crashed...

FYI, I am using a new grand concerto with their latest software, latest MLserver and grandconcerto plugin. I am running MLServer/mainlobby/musiclobby on an XPe touch-panel PC.

The specific commands from the Nuvo are (I ahve seen these coming in when I use the MLGenericdevice and they are documented in Nuvos programming manual.:

Zone PREV Button Pressed: #ZzSsPREV
Zone NEXT Button Pressed: #ZzSsNEXT
Zone PLAY/PAUSE Button Pressed: #ZzSsPLAYPAUSE
Where z = Zone number (10-20), s = source (1-6)

They are generated as soon as the buttons are pushed, no query needed.

Let me know if you need anything tested. I'm a nuvo custom installer and want to sell musiclobby with my nuvo systems....just gotta get this bit running...

dyenamic
New Member
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

update?

Postby dyenamic » Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:55 pm

Hi Dave,

Any update on the server crash when Nuvo keypads send the Forward, Back or Play/Pause responses?. My server crashes every time one of these buttons is pressed on the nuvo wall controls.

I had a typo in the last post corrected below...

Where z = Zone number (1-20), s = source (1-6)

freak69
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:00 pm
Contact:

Postby freak69 » Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:24 pm

Strange, works fine for me.
I have configured it under macro conmmands
Zone = ALL
Source = your source
Type = NEXT
Macro (not sure what this is but I put a 1 here)
My MLServer command is MLServeCMD.MLMediaCenter|MEDIA~zone1~Next


What I'd like to know is how to get play / pause / play functionality Anyone help with an MLServeCMD for that ?

Paul

90CE
Developer
Developer
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Contact:

Postby 90CE » Sun Aug 03, 2008 3:36 pm

Dyenamic:
Not how the crashing is occuring, I cannot get the code to reproduce this action. The mode in which paul is using it is how the code is supposed to use these commands.

Paul:
Can you give me a little more information on what you are trying to do?

thanks
Tracy

freak69
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:00 pm
Contact:

Postby freak69 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:22 am

Hi, for me, I'm just after the way of getting a pause functionality. So if something is playing, I can jut the pause buttin on the keypad and MLMediaCenter will go into pause mode. When I hit it again, it will resume. Not quite sure how to do this exactly.

Also, be interested to know what the macro listing on the plugin is for.

Paul

dyenamic
New Member
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Next/Prev now OK, problem with Play/Pause though

Postby dyenamic » Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:54 am

Hi Paul and Tracy.

Now I have Macro commands for next and previous I don't get the crash anymore? Not sure why but hey it's now working, thks

Next and Prev work fine however PlayPause does not seem to execute the Macro action.

Even though the log says 'Command #Z1S4PLAYPAUSE Processed PLAYPAUSE Command' (my zone is 1 and source 4) I don't believe its executing.

Paul - it should be OK to just use this command for Play/Pause functionaility: MLServeCMD.MLMediaCenter|MEDIA~zone1~Pause
as the Pause function toggles between play and pause depending on playing state (I use this mlservecmd on my pause button on my jukebox scene so it should work). I even made the Play/Pause macro the same as Next (just to test) but it did not execute.

Tracy - can you let me know what Play/Pause does on your system? Looks like Paul and I both have a problem with Play/Pause

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:16 pm

Dyen is correct. That command should work to pause mediacenter;

MLServeCmd.MLMediaCenter|insert media pc name here~zone 1~PAUSE

You want to do this from your keypad, so not sure how to make the above command work via a button on the inwall keypad.

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:51 pm

You might want to take out all spaces and special charecters out of the J River zone name...

ie: Zone 1 becomes Zone1

A user advised he found this works.

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:56 pm

davidl, that would mean changing the ini file as well, correct?

dyenamic
New Member
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby dyenamic » Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:06 pm

Ranger...
To Play/Pause from the GC keypad, it should be as simple as putting a macro command in the grandconcerto plugin macros section with settings as:
Zone = ALL or Zone number of the Kepyad
Source = GC Source input connected to Jriver audio output zone
Type = PLAYPAUSE
MLServeCmd: MLServeCMD.MLMediaCenter|MEDIA~zone1~Pause
(MEDIA - Media Server Name, zone1 = playback zone name)

I have used the Pause command in scenes without a problem, even with a jriver zone name with space (i.e. jukebox 1)

I can't get it to work though in the GC plugin, in fact I can't get any MLserveCmd to run when Type = PLAYPAUSE in the GC plugin.

dyenamic
New Member
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Debug info on PLAYPAUSE macro action problem

Postby dyenamic » Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:11 pm

Some debug info for the cinemar folks....

When I use the Pause command linked to the 'NEXT' Type, then it works. When the same Pause macro commands are linked to the PLAYPAUSE type they don't work.

Comparing the MLServer Log File there is a difference if the macro is launched from the NEXT button or the PLAYPAUSE button type as follows:
(note the blank line in the log when it is not working...second entry with timestamp 8/5/2008 9:50:59 PM)

Notes:
- Server name is multijuke23, Zone name is Jukebox 1.
- I have server rules that display the playback status on the nuvo keypad line 4.
- Same result even if zone name is jukebox1 (no spaces)

Not Working - Macro Sent from PlayPause...
8/5/2008 9:50:59 PM Processing (1) MLMediaCenter|multijuke23~Jukebox 1~Pause
8/5/2008 9:50:59 PM Processing (1)
8/5/2008 9:50:59 PM Processing (1) MLServeCMD.Macro|SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MuLClient_MLMediaCenter_SelZone~Jukebox 1
8/5/2008 9:50:59 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MuLClient_MLMediaCenter_SelZone~Jukebox 1

Working - Same Macro Sent from Next Button...(was previously paused so now starts playing)
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (1) MLServeCMD.MLMediaCenter|multijuke23~Jukebox 1~Pause
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (1) MLServeCMD.Macro|SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MuLClient_MLMediaCenter_SelZone~Jukebox 1
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MuLClient_MLMediaCenter_SelZone~Jukebox 1
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (1) MLServeCMD.Macro|SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_PlaybackStatus~2!SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_CurTitleDuration~186!SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_CURRENTVOLUME~80!SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_J
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_PlaybackStatus~2
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_CurTitleDuration~186
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_CURRENTVOLUME~80
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_MUTESTATUS~0
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (1) MLServeCmd.Macro|MLGrandConcerto|Set_Display_Text_Line~4~1~MultiJuke Playing
8/5/2008 9:51:02 PM Processing (2) MLGrandConcerto|Set_Display_Text_Line~4~1~MultiJuke Playing

Working - Same Macro Sent from Next Button..(was previously playing so now pauses)
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (1) MLServeCMD.MLMediaCenter|multijuke23~Jukebox 1~Pause
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (1) MLServeCMD.Macro|SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MuLClient_MLMediaCenter_SelZone~Jukebox 1
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MuLClient_MLMediaCenter_SelZone~Jukebox 1
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (1) MLServeCMD.Macro|SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_PlaybackStatus~1!SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_CurTitleDuration~186!SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_CURRENTVOLUME~80!SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_J
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_PlaybackStatus~1
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_CurTitleDuration~186
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_CURRENTVOLUME~80
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (2) SetVariable|MLMediaCenter_MULTIJUKE23_Jukebox 1_MUTESTATUS~0
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (1) MLServeCmd.Macro|MLGrandConcerto|Set_Display_Text_Line~4~1~MultiJuke Paused
8/5/2008 9:51:05 PM Processing (2) MLGrandConcerto|Set_Display_Text_Line~4~1~MultiJuke Paused

dyenamic
New Member
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

now working...

Postby dyenamic » Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:49 pm

OK, I don't understand why but I got it working!

I deleted and re-entered the macros in the GC plugin and it started working. Playpause on the nuvo pad now toggles play and pause. The only difference I can see is the order I had the macro types, I originally had Prev-PlayPause-Next and now have Prev-Next-PlayPause. I also played around with macro no. but now have them all set to 1.

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:37 pm

dyan, glad we could help, lol.


Return to “Nuvo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest