No USB on the motherboard

Forum to discuss Cinemar's USBIR6 IR hardware and plugin
stinggray
Member
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:28 pm
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Contact:

No USB on the motherboard

Postby stinggray » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:28 pm

I am trying to setup my MLUSBIR6 but there is no available USB on the motherboard. And none to remove from an existing USB plug. Here is a link to my manual it shows the Board on page 53 with no USB plugs on it. Maybe someone can see something I don't see.

Thanks

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/s ... 758A04.pdf

User avatar
lathanm
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Aurora, IL
Contact:

Postby lathanm » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:50 pm

You can either make a cable that connects to a standard usb port. This is pretty easy since it is just a 4 wire connector. The other option is to add a new usb card. I found one for $8 at Tiger but you could probably find others locally for the same amount.
Hacker /n./ One who enjoys the intellectual challenge of creatively overcoming or circumventing limitations.

Pass the popcorn, the movie is starting!

http://project2501.tzo.com/gallery/automation
http://project2501.tumblr.com

User avatar
gregoryx
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 6599
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact:

Postby gregoryx » Thu Mar 08, 2007 2:02 am

"None available" meaning that the four on the back are in use? Perhaps a USB hub?

User avatar
lathanm
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Aurora, IL
Contact:

Postby lathanm » Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:40 pm

I think he is talking about the internal headers. There is sort of one internal on on most Dell systems but it is used for the front mount ports and the pin out isn't labeled. He can try hacking that but, IMHO it isn't worth the hassle. An add-in card or hub give you more possibilities and is allot less work.
Hacker /n./ One who enjoys the intellectual challenge of creatively overcoming or circumventing limitations.



Pass the popcorn, the movie is starting!



http://project2501.tzo.com/gallery/automation

http://project2501.tumblr.com

beerguy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:44 pm
Contact:

Postby beerguy » Fri Mar 09, 2007 2:47 am

I had the exact same problem. I tried a couple different USB cards with 4 pin blocks but I couldn't find any documention on them as to what the pinouts were. That made me nervous about hooking up the card. I finally found a card that actually gave me the pinouts. Unfortunately I'm not at home right now and I went through so many cards I actually can't remember which one worked. Let me know if you want me to look when I get home and post the mfg. and part number.

Pat

stinggray
Member
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:28 pm
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Contact:

Postby stinggray » Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:51 am

Thanks guys. I think I'm going make an adaptor plug. BUT when i install the software in my PC crashes bad. It even shuts down windows and told me to uninstall the new software. I going Orlando now so I'll ask the guys at the both about this. If I don't get some answers there I'll be back Sunday.


Return to “USBIR6”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest