MLGenericDevice Plugin

A plugin that allows for end user development of multiple RS232 device control systems.
dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Sun Jul 22, 2007 3:05 am

Hi,

Tried again, nothing

For now can you drop a copy in my inbox ?

Thanks

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Sun Jul 22, 2007 5:48 am

dcrera,
I just tried downloading MLGenericDevice again, and it worked perfect.
If you can't do this, there is something more base wrong with your setup that needs to be addressed.

This is the file that downloads to mlserver\downloaded files directory

MLGenericDevice_Setup.exe

To make sure that we are talking about the same thing,

When MLServer 3.0.303 is running (you should be using the latest for all beta testing), click on Help / Additional Software Downloads.
A new window will appear with a list of downloadable applications.
Towards the bottom in the Beta area, at the top is MLGenericDevice.
Check it's checkbox, and then click the Download Files button.
The file referenced above should then be downloaded.

Please advise step by step what you are doing, what you are seeing, and if this process works. We need the detail to fix whatever is broken.

dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:12 am

Hi,

I am going from 3.0.286 to 3.0.303 to see if that resolves my problem.

Will feed back tonight.

Thanks again

dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:15 pm

Hi,

I was running version 3.0.286, upgraded to 3.0.303.

Now I can see Global Cache/Tibbo.

Added a device called Comfort.

CANNOT add any Controlled Devices, the OK button is greyed out hence cannot add any commands for Comfort.

Can you walk me thru one example.

I have a command called Signon, the string I need to send is LI1234. I need a variable call User_Signon
If signon is successful the system returns LU01 and variable User_Signon must be set to 'Signon Successful' or 'Bad Signon'

The Device Response Editor screen is not scaleable, I cannot see the Ok Button ( I am using a 7" screen).


Thanks

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:19 pm

Do you have licensing to add a device? What's in the log?

You are doing system dev on a 7 inch screen? Can you RDP from a larger screen PC to the MLServer PC (larger screen)?

I can't think why changing from 2.86 to 3.03 would have affected anything, but why should I question success?

dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:08 am

Hi,

Do I have to have a license to add a device ? Surely not for a trial version anyway.

Please advise on the way forward.

Can you walk me thru one example.

I have a command called Signon, the string I need to send is LI1234. I need a variable call User_Signon
If signon is successful the system returns LU01 and variable User_Signon must be set to 'Signon Successful' or 'Bad Signon'

Thanks again

90CE
Developer
Developer
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Contact:

Postby 90CE » Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:37 am

If you able to add a device do the following:
Add Device
Select a device name and Alias. The alias will be used to reference the device from this point forward.
Select Global Cache Module and choose comfort
command terminator = 13
Hit OK

To add commands, goto COMMANDS tab, DEVICE COMMANDS tab, select new.

Enter the command name, this will be used to call the command from MLS
the command string would be
<<\HEX Code>>LI1234. Based on the comfort documentation it should be an 03. Thus it would be <<\03>>LI1234

Hit test, if it worked, the device response will appear in the text box. You can copy it from here and use it in the next part.

If you can get this far, I can talk you thru the rest. If you have the ability to allow remote access or remote assistance, I will be happy to assist you further. I believe I gave you my IM address when I sent you the revised dll.

Good luck

dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:42 am

Tracy,

Thank you for the support and assistance.

With regards to (CANNOT add any Controlled Devices, the OK button is greyed out hence cannot add any commands for Comfort. )

Is this an issue ?

Thanks

90CE
Developer
Developer
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Contact:

Postby 90CE » Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:23 am

There should be a status box along the bottom edge of the screen that shows how many devices you can configure. Can you send me a screen shot of the screen?

Tracy

dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:55 am

Tracy,

Thanks for that.

I had to delete both Marantz and Laser distance and now I can see the OK button.

I bit of a limitation, seeing that there is no examples to follow.

I will commit to buy (to remove limitation) as long as you commit to get me up an running with the Tibbo stuff

Thanks

90CE
Developer
Developer
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Contact:

Postby 90CE » Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:40 am

Sorry I did not know you were using the Marantz example from within the plugin. Lets try to get you running under the trial first before you purchase. I am not sure how hard it will be to connect to the TIBBO device until we get some response from the plugin. Keep me informed of your progress.

Tracy

dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Fri Jul 27, 2007 6:15 am

Tracy,

Just to keep this thread updated, the Tibbo interface works like a dream.

Thanks

dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:33 am

Hi,

With Comfort Home Automation, I can send multiple command strings using a group.

When I navigate to a new scene, I want to establish the status of each button.

By sending a group string, I can get the status of all the buttons.

Question :

How can I set multiple variables from one MLGD command ?

eg Command returns the following strings {}
{OP8901} button status 1 = TV Light On
{OP9200} button status 2 = Wall light Off
{OP8701} button status 3 = Ceiling light On

Thanks

90CE
Developer
Developer
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Contact:

Postby 90CE » Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:34 pm

What does the RAW response look like as it comes back from the device?

dcrera
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Postby dcrera » Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:55 am

Hi,

Allow me to change the question.

How can I send multiple command strings from a single Device Command ?

I have been playing with MLGD quite extensively this weekend.

The one thing that is consistent is that I loose comms when the system is idle. To restablish comms, I have to close MLS and restart.

Please check out the log, every so often I see different port id (1 or 1001)


Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “MLGenericDevice”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest