Additional Variable Request

Application to monitor and control PCs on the LAN
kirkfrey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 759
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:55 am
Contact:

Additional Variable Request

Postby kirkfrey » Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:42 am

Would it be possible to add a variable for each client’s power state? i.e. On, Off, Standby.

I am trying to create a button that shows the power state of all my systems that when you push it, it either powers the box on or off depending on its current state. Having this variable would allow me to set the color of the button appropriately thru the states.

I likely am missing an effective way to do this now, if so a shove in the right direction now would be appreciated.
Kirk

Just trying to figure it out...

User avatar
dmcvie
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Postby dmcvie » Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:28 pm

I'd second that request. I'm trying to determine if a client is running so I can toggle a start/shutdown command - or at least show the current status of any machine on the network.

Is there an existing WMI variable (CPU?) that could be used for this?

Thanks

kirkfrey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 759
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:55 am
Contact:

Postby kirkfrey » Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:47 pm

Just wondering if this is being considered (or added :lol: ) or do we need to find a different way around this?

thanks!
Kirk

Just trying to figure it out...

kirkfrey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 759
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:55 am
Contact:

Re: Additional Variable Request

Postby kirkfrey » Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:29 pm

Poke
Kirk

Just trying to figure it out...

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: Additional Variable Request

Postby DaveB » Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:24 am

You can do all of that now. You can ping clients and see if they are connected. You can reboot and shutdown clients. You can also "wake" client, but I never have had much success with this.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

kirkfrey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 759
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:55 am
Contact:

Re: Additional Variable Request

Postby kirkfrey » Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:26 pm

Is there a varibale that holds a clients current state? - on/off?
Kirk

Just trying to figure it out...

bigDvette
Expert
Expert
Posts: 718
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Additional Variable Request

Postby bigDvette » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:54 pm

I believe it is {{clientname}}_connectionstate

0 = false or not connected
1 = true or connected

I think that is right, someone may need to validate. This does not seem to apply to HTML clients like iPhone or iPad.

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: Additional Variable Request

Postby DaveB » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:14 am

You are correct and yes, only for TCP/IP based clients. Something else for Dave to do.. :)
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:


Return to “MLWMI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest