NEW - MLHAI Plugin and Agent

Plugin for the HAI family of security panels
ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby ricks » Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:07 pm

DaveP,

Any further movement on this issue of the 4608 crashing the dll?

Also, I noticed the new version of PCA is out today. This is supposed to expose the TStat status variables. I downloaded and it does show the status variables but they do not seem to be correct. I asked about this over at CT.

Rick

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby DaveB » Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:30 pm

Rick - I downloaded that as well and they are not correct. Looks like they picked up the wrong variables or wrong conversion or something. I entered a tech request over on the HAI developer site.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

Clever1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:31 am
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby Clever1 » Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:41 am

The Thermostat Fan commands don't appear to be working correctly in the lastest alpha release. The command MLHAI|001~Fan~Cycle~1 from the command builder generates an Invalid Tstat specificed for command [Cycle] must be 0..n This same error is generated for the [On] and [Auto] commands.

Clever1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:31 am
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby Clever1 » Thu Oct 29, 2009 7:18 am

There seems to be an issue with the SetCoolPoint function:

Here I set the current tstat variable:

10/29/2009 7:04:48 AM Push [1] myClient2 SetVariable|{{clientname}}_currenttstat~1
10/29/2009 7:04:48 AM Pop [1] myClient2 SetVariable|{{clientname}}_currenttstat~1
10/29/2009 7:04:48 AM Processing (1) myClient2 SetVariable|{{clientname}}_currenttstat~1
10/29/2009 7:04:48 AM Subst In myClient2 {{clientname}}_currenttstat~1
10/29/2009 7:04:48 AM Subst Out myClient2 myClient2_currenttstat~1
10/29/2009 7:04:48 AM System SetVariable myClient2_currenttstat=1

Then I select my Temp.CoolSetPointDown macro which should adjust the current CoolSetPoint (74) minus 1:

10/29/2009 7:05:15 AM Push [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:15 AM Pop [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:15 AM Processing (1) myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:15 AM Processing (2) myClient2 MLHAI|001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:05:15 AM Subst In myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:05:15 AM Subst Out myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~1


However the command seems to change the set point to a value of 100, the thermostat tehn sets the value back to 91 which is the maximum on the tstat:

10/29/2009 7:05:19 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_CoolSetpoint=100
10/29/2009 7:05:20 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_CoolSetpoint=91

Attempted this sequence several times with the same result:

10/29/2009 7:05:52 AM Push [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:52 AM Pop [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:52 AM Processing (1) myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:52 AM Processing (2) myClient2 MLHAI|001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:05:52 AM Subst In myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:05:52 AM Subst Out myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~1
10/29/2009 7:05:53 AM System SetVariable DVD_1_PowerStatus=0
10/29/2009 7:05:53 AM System SetVariable DVD_1_MediaState=Stopped/No media
10/29/2009 7:05:54 AM Push [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:54 AM Pop [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:54 AM Processing (1) myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:54 AM Processing (2) myClient2 MLHAI|001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:05:54 AM Subst In myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:05:54 AM Subst Out myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~1
10/29/2009 7:05:54 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_CoolSetpoint=117
10/29/2009 7:05:56 AM Push [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:56 AM Pop [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:56 AM Processing (1) myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:05:56 AM Processing (2) myClient2 MLHAI|001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:05:56 AM Subst In myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:05:56 AM Subst Out myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~1
10/29/2009 7:05:58 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_CoolSetpoint=122
10/29/2009 7:05:59 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_CoolSetpoint=91
10/29/2009 7:06:53 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_Humidity=44


I then manually set the tstat back to a nominal SetPoint of 74

10/29/2009 7:07:21 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_CoolSetpoint=74


And try again with the same result of course:

10/29/2009 7:07:32 AM Push [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:07:32 AM Pop [1] myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:07:32 AM Processing (1) myClient2 Temp.CoolSetPointDown
10/29/2009 7:07:32 AM Processing (2) myClient2 MLHAI|001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:07:32 AM Subst In myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~{{{{clientname}}_currenttstat}}
10/29/2009 7:07:32 AM Subst Out myClient2 001~CoolSetpoint~-1~1
10/29/2009 7:07:36 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_CoolSetpoint=100
10/29/2009 7:07:38 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_CoolSetpoint=91
10/29/2009 7:08:01 AM System SetVariable HAI_001_TStat001_Humidity=43

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:03 pm

It's unclear from their SDK if the numbers passed to the function need to be converted to the HAI internal format before sending the command or not. It sounds like I should not convert the numbers. Next realease won't do the conversion.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:05 pm

Rick, when you run PCA can you do a read of all the panel settings without issue? HAI tells me that they do not know why their DLL would blow up.

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby ricks » Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:14 am

Hey Dave,

There's a possibility that the issue is with the 3.0 firmware for the OMNI II. When I do a read from the panel into PCA, PCA crashes on 4608, just as you saw.

Per Fred Hebert at HAI:
Looking at the firmware release notes for the Omni II I see that 3.1 corrected a problem with the extended status message. This sure sounds like the problem you are having. You should contact tech support about getting an upgrade chip for the the latest version.


I spoke with tech support, who of course were unaware of the issue, but did offer to sell me a new firmware chip for $32 plus shipping!

Anyway, I'll order the chip from my source and try MLHAI again.

Thanks,
Rick

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby DaveB » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:19 pm

Rick - I never though of that - I am on 3.1, as I was having some other related communication issues. 3.1 repaired my issues, and lets hope that it repairs yours as well!
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby ricks » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:34 pm

It's too bad HAI has joined this trend... release at "80% stable" and charge for the repairs. It's really sad to see one of my favorite companies go down this road..."Ship it early, Ship it broken, Ship it back!" Wouldn't it be great if someone came up with an "ISO" certification for electronics firmware and software products?

I've spent weeks on this issue. DaveP has spent significant time on it. HAI tech support couldn't answer Dave's questions but the final resolution is "Oh ya, upgrade the chip since 3.0 was buggy. That'll be $32 plus shipping. Thank you.".

OK, I'm done. :cry:

User avatar
rpalori
Member
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:13 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby rpalori » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:48 pm

Hey dont listen to the person who thinks its stupid to add serial support in the agent. Not everybody has a huge house and they only need the Omni LT with serial connection. I have been waiting almost three years for a plugin/agent that works 100% with my Omni LT with a newly installed 3.x chip. I tried the latest beta but it does not connect to my panel like the older non beta does. I have a lot of jobs out there with bigger HAI security panels with serial connection only. I'm sure they rather upgrade their chip rather than rip out and replace their HAI panel. So please provide the same support for serial as the network connection. I agree the network connection is the way to go but not always available.




Ryan

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby DaveB » Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:38 pm

There are different markets for different contractors. I for one have been installing HAI for 8 years. For the last five years, I only have installed the Omni Pro II and always connect via TCP, never serial. Yes, if you install the LT, you need a serial driver, But in the market I work in, the space is so congested with less expensive panel installers with fewer features that I would prefer to take less jobs, but sell top of the line equipment.

Another side of this is that it is typically that top of the line customer that also implements home control due to the overall total cost. That was really my point; Make the product work first for the majority of the customers, then back fill it with serial support.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby ricks » Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:08 pm

Hey guys,

Sorry for the sparks. I was just blowing off steam on this ever-increasing situation. But my point was more in the general way we as middle-men/women get crushed between half-baked product releases and high-expectation customers. If HAI says a panel supports IP AND serial then it should support IP AND serial. Its that simple. My business has been mostly in small commercial and I have OMNI II's out there for many, many years. So what do I tell these guys? OK, everyone pay me $125 to install a new chip every month just to get serial working properly? Or better yet, how about we swap-in new OPII's for everyone at $2000 each. An up-scale homeonwer may say "Sure, do it". But when the panel is montioring and managing gas, water, temperature, contacts and relays, etc in the back room, no one cares about bells & whistles. They just want it to freakin work like it used to.

Granted, HAI has gone past the OMNI II and only wants to focus on the newer boards but yet they keep manufacturing upgrade chips for the OMNI II. Because they are that good.

My frustration is not specifically with HAI, they just happen to be the latest in a long line market-share myoptics I've seen in the past few tears. No one seems to have Pride of Ownership anymore in the products they ship. Just how many they ship. I can name a very few that still do but the majority are like that lighting product that was released 2 years ago, it simply didn't work. But they shipped it anyhow. I don't doubt there were installers who went belly-up over that. Woops.

Anyway, both you guys are 100% right-on. But we're the middle-man and we're the ones whose income tanks (service calls, testing, new chip installs) when products are released like this. So we have to be the one's to stand up and say "we're mad as hell and we ain't gonna take it anymore". As my moma always said, "If you're gonna do it, do it right the first time."

Amen. The preacher has left the room. :D

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby DaveB » Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:58 am

Rick - for your sake, lets just hope that 3.1 solves all and then you will have a good solution with what Dave is about to provide.

HAI as a company is one of the best, most progressive in the business. They as all the others are always under the gun to come out with something new for each CEDIA convention. With that pressure, they sometimes rush product to market or find a problem later and do not have the resources to go back and fix the issue. Some issues get shelved until the next major release. Also, it is always interesting when a problem comes up with HAI. I have been through the same issue in that the right hand has no idea what the left hand is talking about.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby ricks » Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:14 am

DaveP,

Received new 3.2 firmware chip and installed. All went well; panel running smoothly and tstats are reporting correct status within PC Access. Unfortunately no luck with MLHAI.

When HAI Agent started, all variables are populated but are not correct. Changes such as door openings, etc. are not being reflected in agent or MLS variables. The only activity in the agent log is an update of each thermostat about every 30 seconds.

Tried running HAI's test program and get "Model does not match file" so no luck there. Possible this test file is for OMNI Pro II and not OMNI II? Do they have a test file for the OMNI II?

Attached are some log snipets.

Any other thoughts?

Rick


11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM ProcessCommand Connect_And_Initialize
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM HandleConnectStatus CONNECTION STATUS: Connecting
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM HandleConnectStatus CONNECTION STATUS: Connected
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM IdentifiyController Identifying Controller...
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM DoInitSequence Reading Setup Data
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading SetupData
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM HandleIdentifyController CONTROLLER IS: Omni II (3.2B)
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading SetupData
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading SetupData (32)
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading SetupData (64)
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading SetupData (96)
11/12/2009 11:06:38 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading SetupData (128)
11/12/2009 11:06:39 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading SetupData (160)
11/12/2009 11:06:39 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading SetupData (192)
.
.
.
11/12/2009 11:06:42 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading Names_Zone
11/12/2009 11:06:42 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading Names_Zone (5)
11/12/2009 11:06:42 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading Names_Zone (6)
11/12/2009 11:06:43 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading Names_Zone (7)
11/12/2009 11:06:43 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading Names_Zone (8)
11/12/2009 11:06:43 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading Names_Zone (9)
11/12/2009 11:06:43 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading Names_Zone (10)
.
.
.
11/12/2009 11:06:44 AM DisplaySetupStatus Reading Done
11/12/2009 11:06:44 AM DisplaySetupStatus Finshed reading panel config
11/12/2009 11:06:44 AM RefreshPanelGrid Begin panel refresh
11/12/2009 11:06:46 AM RefreshPanelGrid End panel refresh
11/12/2009 11:06:46 AM Agent Agent began listening for connections.
11/12/2009 11:06:48 AM ChildEvent 192.168.0.103 connected
11/12/2009 11:06:48 AM ProcessCommand GetVariables
11/12/2009 11:07:16 AM ProcessCommand Request_ExtendedThermostat_Status~1
11/12/2009 11:07:16 AM RequestExtendedThermostatStatus Requesting Extended Thermostat #1 status.
11/12/2009 11:07:16 AM ProcessCommand Exiting
11/12/2009 11:07:16 AM HandleRequestExtendedThermostatStatus TStat #1 (Basement) Current Temperature Is 64°
11/12/2009 11:07:46 AM ProcessCommand Request_ExtendedThermostat_Status~2
11/12/2009 11:07:46 AM RequestExtendedThermostatStatus Requesting Extended Thermostat #2 status.
11/12/2009 11:07:46 AM ProcessCommand Exiting
11/12/2009 11:07:46 AM HandleRequestExtendedThermostatStatus TStat #2 (First Floor) Current Temperature Is 65°
11/12/2009 11:08:16 AM ProcessCommand Request_ExtendedThermostat_Status~3
11/12/2009 11:08:16 AM RequestExtendedThermostatStatus Requesting Extended Thermostat #3 status.
11/12/2009 11:08:16 AM ProcessCommand Exiting
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: NEW - MLHAI Plugin ALPHA test Agent

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:49 pm

Ricks the error message model does not match file is because the HAI dll expects to see model names for the HAI branded panels. Is your panel a 3rd party branded OMNI II? If you look in the Panel grid what model name is being returned?


Return to “MLHAI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest