Plugin question...

Plugin for the HAI family of security panels
Near76
Intermediate
Intermediate

Plugin question...

Postby Near76 » Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:02 pm

I am thinking of using MLHai for an install and have a couple of questions:

1. I am concerned about the polling delays...whay kind of polling rates are people using?

2. I would prefer the HAI control the TStats and UPB lighting as well as security zones...how well does the plugin handle these "full up" type of installs?

3. I am concerned about having many devices, say 60 UPB switches, 4 TSTATs, and 30+ security zones and it bogging down MLS when they get polled. Can anyone comment on the performance of this plugin?
-Matt

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?

Postby ricks » Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:17 am

Hi Matt,

I have been using MLHAI for several months now and definitely would not recommend it for customer installs. Here are the issues I've seen:

1. Slow updates. Consensus says its a polling issue but personally I don't believe this. I've run MLHAI with as little as 6 zones, 2 thermostats, 2 temp sensors and no lighting control with polling set at 1 second and updates take about 4 seconds on average. I haven't tried lighting due to this delay.

2. For some reason the following HAI variables were ommitted from this plugin: Special Status, Alarm Type, Last Code Used, Button Pushed, Freeze Alarm, Fire Emergency, Police Emergency, Auxiliary Emergency, Duress Alarm, Battery Low Trouble, AC Powerfail Trouble, Phone Line Dead Trouble, Digital Communicator Trouble, Previous Security Status, Zone Change Indicator, Special Status Change Indicator

3. In the event a zone is tripped or a smoke/CO/NG detector is activated, there's no way for ML to know this and take action. I believe the missing variables above would/could solve this.

4. Zone ByPass and ReStore don't seem to work.

5. A few things are missing from thermostat control. There is no method to increment/decrement HSP/CSP by 1 degree.