MLCallerId adding dashes incorrectly for long distance #s

MLNetCallerID supports the NetCallerID hardware and sends CallerID data to MLCallerID plugin. MLCallerID3 uses a database to store your call data. MLPhoneBook is a MainLobby view to your Outlook contacts list. MLPhoneDialer allows for dialing of a phone number for you.
Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

MLCallerId adding dashes incorrectly for long distance #s

Postby Blade » Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:33 pm

The MLCallerId plugin is adding dashes in the wrong spot for long distance numbers.

It adds them as follows:

155-511-12222

when it should look like this:

1-555-111-2222

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:30 am

Bob,

Are all your phone numbers coming back with a 1 in front of them or just ones that you've entered in your aliases?

None of my phone numbers come in with that format.

Mine are ###-###-####

If you look in the MLCallerID plugin under the Cmds/Vars tab thaere is an option to configure the formatting.

My guess though is that your aliases have a 1 in front of them, which may be causing the problem.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Postby Blade » Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:17 am

Most of my numbers come in as xxx-xxx-xxxx

If they are lond distance then there is a 1 in front of it like this:

1-xxx-xxx-xxxx

Ind Cmd/Vars in the MLCallerId plugin it is set like this:

@@@-@@@-@@@@

This only works if the number is local and not long distance.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:11 pm

Bob,

What hardware are you using for your CallerID?

You'll probably need to post a log. I've never seen a number come in with a 1 in front on my system - using NetCallerID.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Postby Blade » Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:20 pm

I am using the NetCallerId device in HomeSeer and I use my BLNetCallerId plugin to grab the data from the NetCallerId and then send it to ML.

I am getting the 1 for long distance calls which is expected here in Canada.

If the call is local the number comes in as XXXXXXXXXX
If the call is long distance it comes in as XXXXXXXXXXX, where the first X is a 1

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:03 pm

I have the same issue with NetCallerID driver version 3.0.5.0, and I am using a NetCallerID device. All is working fine with this device that I just finally purchased with the exception of the dash issue. Looks like the data is hiting the variable in the correct format; I just can not seem to get it onto the screen correctly. The screen format is ###-###-#####. It does not handle the leading "1" well.

Note that there is not setting panel that I can find in this varsion of the driver other than the com port setting.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:07 am

Version 3.0.229 of the MLCallerID plugin should resolve the formatting issues. It is available for download now.

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Postby Blade » Thu Mar 13, 2008 6:19 am

Thanks Dave. I have installed it and will test it out shortly. I will report back as soon as I test it.

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Postby Blade » Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:36 am

Problem solved. Thx again

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:31 pm

Dave; Are you updating NetCallerID as well?
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:40 am

DaveB wrote:Dave; Are you updating NetCallerID as well?


Hi all; Just trying to bump this one up on the list. Is anyone working on an update to NetCallerID as it has the same isue as MLCallerID. The masking is not correct for a leading 1 or country code.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:47 am

There will be an update to NetCallerID in the next couple of days.

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:39 am

Thanks Dave!!
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Mar 19, 2008 7:25 pm

Version 3.0.22 of MLNetCallerID is available. It adds the telephone number formating and also switches to the new serial port control that allows for up to 256 comm ports.

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:55 am

Dave; Thanks as always. Works great.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:


Return to “Phone Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest