MLPhoneDialer Plugin

MLNetCallerID supports the NetCallerID hardware and sends CallerID data to MLCallerID plugin. MLCallerID3 uses a database to store your call data. MLPhoneBook is a MainLobby view to your Outlook contacts list. MLPhoneDialer allows for dialing of a phone number for you.

What phone service do you use?

Poll ended at Mon Feb 05, 2007 9:23 am

Traditional Phone Company
10
45%
Skype
0
No votes
Vonage
5
23%
Other (post a message with what company)
2
9%
Traditional Phone Company plus Skype
3
14%
Traditional Phone Company plus Vonage
1
5%
Traditional Phone Company plus Other
1
5%
 
Total votes: 22

kirkfrey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 759
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:55 am
Contact:

Postby kirkfrey » Sat May 24, 2008 11:58 pm

are there specific modems that are supported or will pretty much any modem work?
Kirk

Just trying to figure it out...

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:04 pm

Based on the speedy response from Cinemar on the MLPhonedialer questions I'm guessing its a "dud" in its current configuration. Either that or its a rousing success requiring no documentation or questions. :D

Anyone using it? If so, can you comment? Would seem to have a thousand uses.

Rick

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:46 pm

ricks, I can think of a couple. Can you share your thoughts on the uses??

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:29 am

Ricks, have you tried it?
Takes a couple of minutes.

Working on site is the best recommendation as far as "will it work".

There are so many modems, best answer is try it.

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:05 am

I downloaded and installed it months ago but there was nothing in the plugin. Tried reinstalling it but its expired. Requested trial extension and was told "no, set up another PC, load MLS, load plugin, buy and install another modem, wire to telephone system and test". Ouch, just not worth the time and expense. Sure would be easier to extend the trial. That's why I asked if anyone else has tried it.

Currently use HAI to dial out essential life safety stuff but thought ML handling calendar and email notices would be great.

Rick

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:34 pm

Plugin updated with no beta timeout.

Please update and provide feedback so we can determine if this plugin should be made production level.

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:11 pm

Still expired. Do I need a new license code?

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:30 pm

Yes, you can email dave@cinemaronline dot com and request a trial for MLPhoneDialer license.

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:56 am

Installed latest version, activated, connected to modem comport and restarted MLS. While trying MLPhoneDialer|Dial~xxxxxxxxxxx I get 2 error messages:

Error 0() @ Line 80 in procedure Dial of modSharedCode
Error 0() @ Line 140 in procedure Dial of modSharedCode

Thoughts?

Rick

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Thu Sep 04, 2008 1:15 pm

Line 80 of the code opens your configured com port.

Have you configured it?
Is any other software connected to it? (can't be)

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:05 pm

Sorry if this has been addressed already but I haven't seen it. The only thing on this system that has anything to do with the modem is MLCallerID. Does this mean MLPhoneDialer cannot work with MLCallerID?

Rick

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:12 pm

Not sure. Try one or the other. Disconnect MLCallerID, and try MLPhoneDialer. Let us know.

You can always add another modem if it comes to it, or use a NetCallerID box for the CallerID functions.

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:31 pm

Works fine with MLCallerID shut off. Although I have a NetCallerID box I don't use it because it is essentially a rather "flimsy" product which I don't think is even made anymore.

So the obvious question is... can these plugins be combined into one? MLCallerID is great but it doesn't allow user interaction without opening the plugin. MLPhoneBook is great but it doesn't interact with MLCallerID. MLPhoneDialer is great but you can't use it with MLCallerID.

All related but don't play well together. Sure would be nice if Cinemar had a comprehensive telephone plugin. :D

Rick

PS. Any way to send an MLServeCmd to shut down MLCallerID, start MLPhoneDialer and then restart MLCallerID?

User avatar
colhemm
Member
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby colhemm » Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:32 pm

I've got the MLPhoneDialer working fine, making calls, taking calls and I've even made a basic scene but it would be nice to be able to see the number your dialing, is this passable now or is it something you are going to add in the future.

Colin

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:44 pm

Colin,
When you are saying that you would like to see the number you are dialing via MLPhoneDialer...why don't you put the number you want to dial into a MLServer variable (use SetVariable) and then both dial THAT number (dial the {{phonenumber_to_dial}} ) and display that variable in the scene in a Text button?

If you were to reverse engineer how the DVDLobby password scene works, you could create an onscreen telephone keypad where you can touch in your phone number to call, and then have MLPhoneDialer call the number you key'd in at the touchscreen.

Is that what you are getting at?


Return to “Phone Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests